Will The Demon Sleep?

In the late 1990s, I entered this contest.  All I had to do was submit an original poem and send it in for evaluation.  A few weeks later, I received a reply.  The International Library of Poetry loved my poem and they wanted to include it in an anthology they were planning to publish. 
 
The International Library of Poetry.  Sounds prestigious, doesn’t it?  Well, sadly, it’s not.
 
I was fairly skeptical of this organization and as it turns out, I had reason to be.
 
You see, the ILP is a vanity press.  This means in order for anyone to have their poem(s) published in one of their anthologies, it’s going to cost you.  After they approve your poem, they ask your permission to have it published.  They also lay on the big sales pitch.  If you want to see your published poem, you don’t get a free copy.  You have to pay for it.   I don’t remember how much it would’ve set me back to pay for one of these books but through a recent Google search, I discovered it was apparently 85 dollars.
 
On the plus side, however, there’s a good chance you can see your accepted poem(s) on their website.
 
All you have to do is a name search and a list of all your accepted entries should pop up.  Sadly, I have 2 entries on the site.  Only one can be retrieved.  Will The Demon Sleep? can’t be accessed.  Instead, there’s a message from the ILP asking for my permission to release the poem for use on their website because they “did not have the correct method in place.”  Whatever that means.  It’s been like that for years and I just can’t be bothered to give them what they want.  Now that I have this website, I’ve decided to include the poem here instead. 
 
I don’t remember what inspired the poem.  (It certainly wasn’t the contest because I believe it was written before I heard about it.)  I also don’t remember how I heard about the contest.  It was most likely through unsolicited mail.  My mom wanted me to submit something but I had a feeling it was too good to be true.  After receiving a glowing review for my poem and catching wind of their unsubtle sales pitch, it confirmed my initial skepticism and that was the end of it. 
 
If you want to know more about the International Library of Poetry, type “The International Library of Poetry”, with quotation marks on Google.
 
You’ll learn all you need to know about the real intentions of this deceptive company.  In the meantime, here’s my poem:
 
 
WILL THE DEMON SLEEP?
By Dennis Earl

The mind is frayed and the soul is torn
I wish that I had never been born
No face I see can ever believe
That I have the power to deceive
They see a man who is calmer than most
Reluctant to speak, hesitant to boast
But inside, there lives a treacherous beast
A demon so patient, it awaits its release
It will steal, it will cheat, it will covet your wife
It will think things through before ending your life
But there is something else I think you should know
When this evil retreats, this evil will grow

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Sunday, February 19, 2006
11:32 p.m.
Published in: on February 19, 2006 at 11:33 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2006/02/19/will-the-demon-sleep/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

