New And Future Additions To The Site

After much hemming and hawing, I’ve decided to make some changes to my site.  (More on that in a moment.)
 
Since the launch of The Writings Of Dennis Earl on February 19th this year I’ve been doing a lot of blogging.  I’ve dipped into my archives to show you examples of my work from the past and, on occasion, I’ve written new pieces specifically for the site.  There are now over 50 entries (and counting) and I couldn’t be happier about that.  I want this to be an advertisement for my writing so that, someday, someone will look at what I’ve put together here and think to themselves, “This guy should get paid for this,” or “Someone should give him a book deal,” or “I’d like to hire his services,” and make any of those things happen for me.  After years of self-imposed hibernation, I’m ready to stop hiding.
 
Now, for the changes.  On April 3, I wrote about the problems I was having with the site.  (Read The Strange Case Of The Invisible Blog for more information.)  My blog was invisible for about 10 days or so and I had no idea why.  I found out it had something to do with my background so I changed it temporarily to “[a]n open road on a partly cloudy day.”  It was temporary because that particular background didn’t repeat all the way down the page as it should.  It lasted a day or two until I decided on this simple blue circle design which I’m not about to change even though I miss the old film reel set-up I had.  I wasn’t going to mention the design change because, honestly, I’m not crazy about it.  But I haven’t had any “invisible blog” problems since the change so I’m sticking with it.  The good news is it’s so bland and unexciting it doesn’t distract you from reading the contents of my site, which is fine by me.  The writing should be the main attraction here, anyway.
 
Those aren’t the only changes I’ve made.  Today, you’ll notice two new additions to the site.  Originally, I decided against putting up a profile.  I’ve always hated them because I prefer mystery and if people are truly interested in you they’ll ask you directly what they want to know.  I usually tell them, which, sadly, kills the mystery.  However, I’ve changed my mind. 
 
That new profile is a work in progress.  I’ll be making changes here and there, and I hope to have a photo of myself posted in the near future.  I’ve resisted this for a long time but I think it’s time to be brave. 
 
Also new is my first custom list.  I’ve put together a small list of Recommended Websites that I hope you check out.   I’m always on those sites and I hope you will be, as well.  Expect more entries on that particular list soon as well as more lists.
 
Also, I’ve added a new category for my blog entries entitled Website Announcements.  This will feature anything and everything involving the site itself.  You’ll find The Strange Case Of The Invisible Blog and my first entry, Let Me Introduce Myself, assembled here.  I didn’t know where to put those entries before.  Now I do.
 
I want to thank everybody who’s visited the site and would like to make a request.  I’d like to hear what you think about The Writings Of Dennis Earl.  You can write a comment about a specific entry or you could email me at dennischarlesearl@hotmail.com.  I want to personally thank Paul, the only person who’s written a comment so far, for his kind words about my entry, Where’s The Outrage?  It made my day.  I replied to the comment and I hope he returned to see it.  If you want me to respond directly, please leave your email address so I can write you.  Otherwise, I’ll just post my own comment right after yours on the site.
 
One more thing.  As my 31st birthday approaches, I feel an intense need to reveal more about myself.  I consider myself a very private person but I feel that has been a mistake in my life.  It’s created unnecessary distance between myself and other people and as a result, I find myself very much alone in the world.  I’ll explain more about this in the coming months.  I’m not going to suddenly become Howard Stern and reveal all, it should be noted.  I still like keeping some things private.  But I think it’s time to stop being a baby.  I’ve artificially extended my teen years to the point where I have no idea how to be an adult.  As I said, this will be explained further in a couple of specific entries devoted to the seemingly directionless nature of my life.
 
I started this site with a bit of hesitation but now am fully committed to making it as great as it should be.  I want to be a professional writer in some capacity as well as a broadcaster, the latter of which I was trained to become.  I’m tired of being an unemployed, stay-at-home mama’s boy.  I want to be a man.
 
A wise man once sang, “Struggle builds character.”  Bring on the struggle.
 
Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Sunday, May 7, 2006
3:47 p.m.

UPDATE: Please note my email address has been changed.

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Friday, October 29, 2010
7:52 p.m.

Published in: on May 7, 2006 at 3:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2006/05/07/new-and-future-additions-to-the-site/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

