Coming Soon To The Writings Of Dennis Earl

In 17 days, this website will have been online for exactly 6 months.  I’m very proud of what I’ve accomplished thus far:  80 pieces of writing (and counting), my first profile (with a recent pic, no less), 9 lists (and counting), one comment (thanks Paul) and over 1200 hits.  That’s a pretty good start in my book but there’s more on the way.
 
As the summer season heats up, I’m planning some more additions to the site.  Firstly, expect more sexy women to be added to The Sexiest Women Alive lists.  With a limit of 100 entries per list, you’ll see more than one list devoted to this.  I’m already up to two and expect to eventually get up to four.  I’m also planning to add more Recommended Websites.  (On a side note regarding that particular list, I’ve changed the Rolling Stone entry slightly.  I’ve decided to drop the reference to the magazine’s 1000th issue being circulated.  I’m trying to keep certain things timeless on here.)  I’m hoping to add more funny people, as well.  If there are changes made to the 10 Best and Worst Movies Of The Decade So Far lists, it’s because I’ve seen something better or worse than what’s already on those lists and I made the necessary change(s).  If I think of any more things I’m allergic to, I’ll add those items as well.
 
Speaking of lists, I’m going to add several more.  I’m thinking of adding my old Top 10 and Worst 10 Movies Of The Year lists.  These date back to the early 1990s when I just started to figure out how to be a movie critic in high school.  I’m pretty proud of them.  They deserve to be showcased.  Also, I want to make a list of my favourite CDs (the ones I’m always playing) and a Top 10 CDs Of The Decade So Far list, too.  There might also be a favourite band name list, possibly others.  These are just off the top of my head.  I’m hoping to cram this site with as many interesting lists as possible.  They’ll be added from time to time during the summer.
 
As for my blog entries, I will continue to post old pieces from my past (expect more high school writing and rejected movie reviews) and new material written specifically for this website.  I’m contemplating going back 10 years to write about my time as an intern on The Royal Canadian Air Farce on CBC.  (I have a college report I wrote back then that I might quote from.) Not sure how that’s going to work but I’ll see what I can do.  I make no promises but it’s something I’m thinking about working on.
 
From time to time, I post something under the title "From The Published Archives".  So far, I’ve focused mainly on stuff I did in college for Mohawk College’s student newspaper, The Satellite, and featured the odd movie review from my high school days at Delta Secondary.  I’ve been emailing back and forth lately with an old college friend I haven’t seen in nearly 10 years and as I was responding to his query about whether I’ve ever been paid for my writing, I started thinking.  When I initiated this site, I tried to be as picky as possible about what I would show to all of you.  At the time, I didn’t want to showcase anything too sexual or racy in case I run into problems with MSN Spaces which I do not want to happen.  (I’m not a confrontational person.)  I haven’t changed my mind about that but I have changed my mind about something else.
 
Besides being published in student publications, I’ve also seen my work laid out in daily newspapers like The Toronto Sun and The Hamilton Spectator.  In the case of The Sun, I’ve mainly had a number of letters to the editor published.  No guest columns or feature articles, unfortunately.  Maybe in the future if I catch a break with them.  However, a few years ago, I did manage to convince The Spec to publish several examples of my writing.  I didn’t want to post anything on here like that in case there was a copyright problem.  But it’s been 3 years since my last submission was accepted and considering that, with the exception of 3 articles, all my writing for them was done for free, I’m pretty sure posting some of my Spec stuff now won’t pose a problem.  (If it does, Hamilton Spectator, write me at dennischarlesearl@hotmail.com and let me know.  I’ll take it down, if that’s the case.)  I believe I own the copyrights for all the writing I did for them so, for the first time since their original publication, you’ll get to read more recent examples of my published writing.  In some cases, you will probably see the original versions I sent them and not the edited ones that appeared in the paper.  I wasn’t always happy with the published versions.
 
My wish this summer is to somehow think of a way to direct more traffic to the site.  (I’m open to suggestions.) I’ve tried telling friends and family about The Writings Of Dennis Earl and I know for a fact that they’ve been checking things out which I’m very happy about (as have complete strangers).  But I’d like to get some more feedback from people who have taken the time to read anything or everything on here.  I’m thinking about putting on a guestbook that people can sign so I know who’s been reading what and how they felt about it.  I have no idea how to do that.  Once I do, I’ll decide whether or not I should put it on here for visitors.  Chances are I will.  No idea when this will all happen but it’s coming soon, hopefully. 
 
I also want to write about the decline of The Toronto Sun.  Toronto Star columnist and blogger Antonia Zerbisias has written periodically about the ongoing troubles at the newspaper and its sister TV station, Sun TV.  She prints and posts a lot of interesting inside information that I’m sure the bigwigs at the paper aren’t too happy about. (I say, "You go, girl.")  I probably won’t be doing that.  Instead, I’d like to write about its declining quality and focus on some of its questionable views and hiring decisions.  I’ve been thinking about this for quite a while.  All that remains is how to put my thoughts together in a coherent matter.  It won’t be completely negative, thankfully.  I’ll single out some writers and views I think are worthy of praise.  But the paper is going downhil for me and I want to address that somehow.
 
Well, that’s what you can all look forward to during this season.  I thank everybody who’s visited the site and hope you enjoyed your stay.  I will be posting more content whenever I feel the need so I hope you’ll return to see the latest material.  There may be long gaps between new updates but hey, even I need a break, eh?
 
Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Sunday, July 2, 2006
11:08 p.m.
Published in: on July 2, 2006 at 11:09 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2006/07/02/coming-soon-to-the-writings-of-dennis-earl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

