Favourite Quotes From Inside Hollywood Magazine (Part Two)

Here are some more interesting things numerous showbiz folks told Inside Hollywood magazine during its brief, 2-year existence:
 
“My mother was like, ‘You gotta be a doctor.’  I said, ‘Ma, I just bought you a new car [with] this money I made on acting.’  And she says, ‘I always wanted you to be an actor.  Who needs a doctor!  You’re an actor and that’s the important thing.'”
 
(Denzel Washington in the September/October 1991 issue)
 
“You bet he does.  I remind him every day.  I tell him, ‘Batman says get your ass out of bed.’  And it works!”
 
(Michael Keaton answering a question about whether his then-young son knew he was Batman in the same issue)
 
“Playing Freddy now is like summer camp.  It’s been a great summer job and almost a cottage industry for me.  We generally do the movies during the summer, so I know I’ve got to put that makeup on my face again.  It’s almost like your mom sewing your name in your underwear.”
 
(Robert Englund on playing Freddy Krueger for the 6th time in Freddy’s Dead: The Final Nightmare in the same issue)
 
“They’re not responsible totally for the fact that I’ve got no hair, but they contributed to it.”
 
(Danny DeVito reflecting on the “strict nuns” who taught him during his formative years at Our Lady of Mt. Carmel in New York in the same issue)
 
“The first time I met him, I thought, ‘How much work can there be for a type like that?  Poor guy, how’s he going to support his family?'”
 
(Unknown actor Dan Ryan on his first impressions of Andy Garcia, his friend, in the January/February 1991 issue.  For the record, after he screened Eight Million Ways To Die, Dan changed his tune.)
 
“It’s true, I see him all the time.  I believe passionately that I see him all the time.  I have conversations with him, and get his approval on whether what I’m doing has intregity or not.”
 
(Patrick Swayze on his dead father in the same issue)
 
“I have no musical training.  I tried to take music lessons but I was always told I didn’t have any talent.”
 
(former Oingo Boingo frontman turned film composer Danny Elfman, best known for composing the themes to The Simpsons, Batman and Spider-Man, in the same issue)
 
“I did everything from read the Bible to sending away for Ted Bundy tapes.  That was weird.  I’ve got a great tape collection now.  People would come over and see these Ted Bundy tapes and go, Whew!”
 
(Rob Lowe on some of his preparation for the movie Bad Influence in the same issue)
 
“I didn’t like Bird.  I didn’t like the way it was shot; too dark and smokey–rain in every shot.  I didn’t see Charlie Parker the genius, I saw Charlie Parker the pathetic drug addict–a real sad treatment.”
 
(Spike Lee on Clint Eastwood’s Bird in the same issue)
 
“Marlene is a very powerful woman.  You wouldn’t believe who this woman talks to.  If it’s not the Reagans on Friday, then it’s the Bushes on Tuesday.  Why, she’s on the phone almost regularly with [then] President Mitterand of France!  She spends her days talking on the telephone with the world’s dignitaries.  She’s bedridden, but only by choice.  Marlene can walk, but she has created a lifestyle that keeps her in bed.”
 
(Peter Riva on his famous grandmother, Marlene Dietrich, in the November/December 1991 issue)
 
“I’ve been at this since…October [1990], and I can’t wait until I can go back out in the sun again.  I look like I need a transfusion.”
 
(Angelica Huston on playing Morticia Addams in The Addams Family movie in the same issue)
 
“The perversion of Shakespeare was that it was written for the Disneyland tourists.  The theater was not allowed in London; it was outside London next to the bearbaiting pits and the hookers.  There was famine and plagues–like AIDS–and you paid a penny and got away from that stuff.  You’d come in and drink beer and watch and eat and yell and talk…Shakespeare had no respect for his plays, he didn’t even publish them.  He only published his sonnets.  They played just a few performances, and they had a tremendous amount of vulgarity, low-level humor, killing, violence and slaughter.  And the perversion is that, hundreds of years later, you have an audience that sits there in the most passive, intellectual way–and the real people that should be there can’t afford it.”
 
(Dustin Hoffman in the same issue)
 
“So I’m doing all this research and I find there’s no difference between–I don’t like to say ‘Hollywood’ or ‘the Industry’–there’s no difference between them and the Mafia.  They just aren’t using bullets as such.  They do it in a different way.  There was a Variety review of Dick Tracy–the viciousness of it!  I am betting it was a contract ‘hit’ from a person who runs a studio.  You don’t think that happens?  Studio heads are in very tenuous positions.  First of all, they know less about moviemaking than anybody–the grips know more, they’ve been in it longer.  These guys are lawyers or accountants…what happens if they pass on a picture and it makes money for another studio?  They gotta rub out the other guy.”
 
(Hoffman again on preparing to play Dutch Schultz in Billy Bathgate, same issue)
 
“You don’t think critics can hurt you?  I picked up the newspaper and a critic said I was the only one who didn’t wear make-up.  If you don’t think that hurts…”
 
(the always entertaining Hoffman on a bad review he got for appearing in make-up in Dick Tracy from the same issue)
 
“They just eliminated me.  They erased me because I didn’t fit a sexual identity for them.  I’d never experienced that before, and it made me angry.”
 
(Hoffman once again about the time he was doing Tootsie and the reactions he got from men while dressed as the Dorothy Michaels character, same issue)
 
“I’ve never thought of myself as a Sunset Strip hooker, and I can’t imagine ever being mistaken for one, so it never bothered me that I played one.”
 
(Kathleen Turner on her role in Crimes Of Passion, same issue)
 
“I think I’m a very sexual person in real life.  I don’t flaunt it, but it’s certainly there.”
 
(Glenn Close in the same issue)
 
“When we first met, he really threw me a curve.  I said something negative about our last President [Ronald Reagan] and he sort of looked down, got very quiet and he looked at me and he said, ‘I don’t know about you.  I thought we had a pretty good four years.’  I was horrified.  My heart started thumping so I tried to get out of it.  I said, “Oh yeah, you’ve had a great four years.  You had a baby, you have this house you’re building.’  I tried to make it sound like that’s what I was talking about [starts to laugh] and he said, ‘Yeah, you’re right.  I had a terrific four years, but that son of a bitch had nothing to do with it!'”
 
(Bonnie Bedelia on meeting her Presumed Innocent co-star, Harrison Ford, in the same issue)
 
“My only regret is that when I was in college, there was a kid in our dorm who stole a hundred bucks from me.  I regret that I didn’t kick his ass.  That’s the only regret that I carry around with me to this day.  And he knows who he is.”
 
(Bruce Willis in the May/June 1991 issue.  I wonder if he ever got the money back.)
 
“I saw her eyes seem to narrow and I knew I was in trouble…She took my head in her mouth, grasping the back of the skull.  I could hear her teeth scraping bone, the sound was unforgettable.”
 
(Tippi Hedren talking about her dangerous encounter with a “200-pound, two-year-old lioness” while shooting a scene for the film Roar in the same issue)
 
“There’s just not much around for women.  Have you seen what women are in, what they’re doing?  They’re getting mutilated, raped, murdered…and they’re not getting paid!  Everybody’s afraid of saying it because it will hurt their chances of employment.”
 
(Meryl Streep on the scarcity of dignified female roles in Hollywood in the March/April 1991 issue)
 
“I didn’t know anything about the ’60s.  Jim Morrison, Van Morrison, I didn’t know the difference.”
 
(Meg Ryan in the same issue)
 
“I’m careful of not getting too fanatical, telling people what they can or cannot do.”
 
(Tom Cruise talking about the environment in the same issue.)
 
“Sometimes you just can’t worry about looking like an asshole.  I figured if I fell flat on my face, they could always hire Madonna to dub my voice.  Madonna or Pee-Wee Herman.”
 
(Michelle Pfeiffer’s response to being asked if it was “scary” to sing in The Fabulous Baker Boys, in the March/April 1992 issue)
 
“I told Al he had become much nicer, and I had become much meaner.  He’s much more relaxed these days.  And I’ve become a real bitch!”
 
(A laughing Pfeiffer on how she and Al Pacino, her co-star from Frankie & Johnny and Scarface, have changed over the years, in the same issue)
 
“I was a rotten kid, just rotten.  I was always in trouble.  I tried so hard to be good, but I was incapable.  With the greatest effort, I would manage to get a C in citizenship.  I was a bully.  I was a tomboy.  I used to beat up all the boys.  I was like the Mafia don of my elementary school.”
 
(Pfeiffer again talking about her rather exciting childhood in the same issue)
 
“I’ll never have a face lift.  When I hear actresses say, ‘I’m going to get my face done, get my tits raised and get another 10 years out of this business,’ I say, ‘More power to you.’  But it’s not for me.  On the other hand, when I’m 62, are they going to let me play opposite a 32-year-old man, which was the age difference between me and Sean Connery in Russia House?  Maybe when I’m an old broad, I’ll change my mind and say, ‘Doc, lift everything 30 feet!'” 
 
(Pfeiffer’s thoughts on plastic surgery in the same issue)
 
“Well, if I were Sean Penn, I would have killed somebody by now.  If I had male aggression, I would be in jail.  I have shoved papparazzi.  Really shoved them.”
 
(Pfeiffer on celebrity photographers, same issue)
 
“My basic nature is dark.  I alternate between openness and paranoia, candor and distrust.  What can I say?  I’m a mess.”
 
(Pfeiffer once more, same issue)
 
Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Sunday, September 24, 2006
10:36 p.m.
Published in: on September 24, 2006 at 10:45 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2006/09/24/favourite-quotes-from-inside-hollywood-magazine-part-two/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

