Long Overdue Changes

It’s been a while since I talked about what’s going on with my website so I thought I would offer an update.
 
Originally, this site had a movie theme to it.  I miss it terribly.  Unfortunately, I had to make a change when the contents of my blog became invisible.  After sorting all of that out with the then-MSN Spaces Technical Support, I decided to follow their advice and go with a very simple, bland pattern theme.  I’ve never liked how it looked but I put up with it all these months so my blog wouldn’t pull another disappearing act.  And it hasn’t.
 
After going through the other choices I’ve settled on this cool space design.  I think it really sets a mood for the reader to get into some interesting writing.  I’ll stick with it until I get sick of it.  Besides, the change was long overdue.
 
My profile has been altered again.  First of all, my pic is different.  Well, not really.  It’s the same pic, only in black and white.  I think it goes really well with the new background design.  Secondly, I’ve decided to call myself a writer, rather than an unemployed writer, even though the previous description was more honest.  But think about it.  I am a writer.  I just don’t get paid for it at the moment.  Someday soon, I hope that changes.  I mean does any writer refer to themselves as being “unemployed”?  Exactly, hence the change.
 
I have a new email address:  dennischarlesearl@hotmail.com.  I had to add my middle name, unfortunately.  No worries.  If you ever want to get in touch with me for whatever reason (feedback about the site, job offers, shameless flirtation), feel free to contact me through that address.  I check it regularly.  The time was right to have something more professional sounding.  I am 31 now, after all.
 
I have a new favourite quote.  Originally, I used a line from Everybody Loves Raymond.  (“Suck it up, Nancy!”)  I’m thinking of changing that part of my profile from time to time to keep it fresh.  I have no idea now where I found the new quote but I love it, so I made the change there.
 
I’ve dropped a couple of lists.  I believe you can only have 20 lists on your site and I’m thinking of adding more movie and music-related lists, so I needed to make some room.  I got tired of looking at the names on my Dispicable Hypocrites list.  Maybe in the future I’ll just write individual articles about the names that were on there instead.  I already have one on The Sex Pistols (which was one of the first pieces I posted on here).  Also gone are My Allergies.  I’m thinking it would be a better idea to write an entry on that rather than have a list.  It would put everything in its proper context.
 
I’ve made some revisions to the Recommended Websites list.  Antonia Zerbisias is gone (mainly because she hasn’t written in over a month) as well as Rolling Stone’s official site.  I still recommend those sites but I want to showcase other sites that are worthy of your time.  Also, I haven’t been on the RS site in months.  I’ve been checking out Crooks And Liars for quite a while now which I have finally added to the list. 
 
Before MSN Spaces became Windows Live Spaces, if you clicked on an entry on my blog list (The Writings Of Dennis Earl), a new window opened up so you wouldn’t lose your place on my site.  Now if you click an entry you go from the home page directly to that particular bit of writing.  If you want to open it up in a new window, right click and go to Open In New Window, the second option.
 
I finally reached 100 blog entries on September 23.  So, right underneath The Writings Of Dennis Earl blog list is The Writings Of Dennis Earl 2 blog list.  Already I have 10 entries in that second list.  When I reach my limit in that list, I’ll start a third one.  I want everyone to be able to navigate the contents of this site as simply and as conveniently as possible.
 
Earlier in the summer I mentioned that I was thinking about adding some of my Year-end Top 10 movie lists.  So far, I’ve added 4.  (The years 1992-5.)  I have one for 1991 and as soon as I find it, I’ll post it.  I also will post a couple of Worst 10 lists.
 
Speaking of movie lists, Sin City is now the second best film of the decade.  After seeing Paul Haggis’ Crash, I felt it was the stronger of the two films.  That’s why it’s number one.  Whenever I see more great movies from this period of time, I’ll update the list.  So far, there haven’t been any worse films than the 10 titles on the Worst of the Decade list.
 
I’ve added a few more of My Favourite Musicians, I’ve found more sexy women to acknowledge (now onto its second list) and added a few more funny people.
 
And that’s about it for the new stuff on my website.  I thank you all for visiting and reading.  I strongly encourage you to email me or to leave a comment.  I still have only received one comment since I started all of this in February.  Let’s hear some more opinions about my work.  I’m a big boy.  I can take it.  And leave some contact information so I can get back to you.  I’ll write a reply in the comment section, regardless.
 
I haven’t abandoned all of the ideas I was thinking about a few months ago.  It remains to be seen if any of them will come to fruition before the end of the year.  I’m still looking for a way to make money with my writing on a full-time basis so maybe some of them will be saved for magazines and newspapers rather than this site.  I’m not sure and I don’t want to make any promises.  Then again, it’s really difficult to break through in those markets.  Perhaps this site will be the best way to sell someone on my writing.  We shall see.
 
One more thing before I sign off.  My book list (“Recommended Books For Sale”) still won’t connect to Amazon.ca and I haven’t heard from the Windows Live Spaces Technical Team in quite some time about it.  The last I heard, they were still trying to figure out why I keep getting error messages.  As soon as that’s all sorted out (and I sure hope it’s solved before next year), I’ll make an announcement and hopefully, convince you to support this site by buying terrific books from the Canadian off-shoot of Amazon.  All the books on that list I have read and enjoyed. 
 
That’s all the latest.  Once again, thanks for visiting The Writings Of Dennis Earl.  Come on back.  I’m updating constantly.
 
Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Tuesday, October 10, 2006
1:03 a.m.

UPDATE:  Paragraph 5 has been revised because of a necessary change that’s, ahem, long overdue.  My original email address has been marked for extinction and therefore won’t be mentioned in any capacity on this site any longer.  Originally, in that paragraph, I mentioned two email addresses which readers could use to contact me; only one of which sounded professional.  (The other inspired countless snickers.)  After much contemplation, dennischarlesearl@hotmail.com will be the sole address I’ll be using with regards to this website.  Thank you for your understanding.

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Friday, October 29, 2010
3:30 p.m.
Published in: on October 10, 2006 at 1:07 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2006/10/10/long-overdue-changes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

