From The Published Archives: The Cynical

One of the first things I posted on here when I started this website was a poem.  I called it “Fear” and in 2001, I tried to get it published.
 
The Toronto Sun, which celebrated its 35th anniversary yesterday, have been publishing reader-submitted poems for years.  Under the name “Poet’s Corner”, anybody can send them an original, previously unpublished verse and if they like it, they’ll print it.  My mom thought it would be a good idea to try and get something poetic in the newspaper.  So I went for it.
 
I looked at the few poems I had written and saved over the years, and thought that Fear was the best of the bunch and most likely to be published.  So I fired off an email to The Sun.  They told me it was too long and to submit something shorter.  (If I were to submit it today, it would probably be published now considering the paper is publishing longer poems these days.)
 
The result was this quickly composed, one-verse piece called The Cynical.  I spent so little time on it I was shocked when they informed me by email that they were going to publish it.  There was no money to be earned from this but it was nice to have something published, nonetheless.
 
The title was an old idea I had lying around on a little piece of paper.  Originally, I thought it would be a great name for a hard-hitting investigative magazine, if the name hasn’t already been taken by somebody smart.  I can’t remember now if I selected that title after I had written the poem or before.  Either way, it’s the perfect title for this rather menacing poem.
 
The poem was published on page 51 of the November 6, 2001 edition of The Sun.  Much to my surprise, it reappeared on page 81 of the August 5, 2002 edition of the paper.  I thought that was cool.  I’m not sure if it’s been published more than that.  I don’t always check Poet’s Corner because, believe it or not, poetry is not my thing.  If it had popped up again in another edition, I’m sure I would’ve spotted it.  As I write this, I’m sure it was only seen in 2001 and 2002. 
 
This is how the poem looked both times it appeared in The Toronto Sun:
 
POET’S CORNER
  
The Cynical
 
                                               I don’t trust you
                                               I’ve been fooled before
                                               I’m moving on
                                               Before I hit the floor
                                               I sense hostility
                                               Beneath the charm
                                               One move closer
                                               And I will be harmed
Dennis Earl
 
Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Thursday, November 2, 2006
6:23 p.m.
Published in: on November 2, 2006 at 6:23 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2006/11/02/from-the-published-archives-the-cynical/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

