Recommended Books For Sale From Amazon.ca…Finally!

I thought this day would never arrive.  With no thanks to the Windows Live Spaces Technical Support Team (more on them in a moment), I took it upon myself, after months of frustration, to solve a nagging problem.
 
Visitors to my site have probably seen a list called Recommended Books For Sale.  (It’s right under my profile information on the left side of the main page.)  Back in the summer I tried unsuccessfully to link my book list to Amazon.ca several times.  I was under the impression you didn’t have to do very much in order to make everything work properly.  I was wrong.
 
I contacted WLS Technical Support and they had no clue what the problem was.  After not hearing from them after several weeks (there had been a few emails back and forth by then), I requested a status report.  They still didn’t know what was wrong and informed me that once they had an answer, they’d let me know immediately.  That was back in August.
 
Today, I solved the problem myself.  Let me explain. 
 
There was something that had been bothering me lately and I finally did something about it.  Back in the summer when I was putting my book list together one title at a time, I noticed there was a space beside the acronym “ISBN”.  This afternoon, I Googled “ISBN” (just like that) and found out that it stands for International Standard Book Number.  Immediately, I had an idea.
 
I went to Amazon.ca and started going through each title on my book list looking specifically for the appropriate ISBNs.  I started with the first title, A Red Death.  I found its ISBN, copied it and pasted it into my book list.  Wouldn’t you know it, the damn thing worked.  Problem solved.
 
I am happy to announce that, as of today, my book list officially links to Amazon.ca. 
 
Every book on my list I have read and highly recommend.  Some titles are paperback editions and others are in the original hardcover.  Here is what is for sale right now:
 
On the fiction side…
 
The first three Easy Rawlins novels:  Devil In A Blue Dress, A Red Death, and White Butterfly.  All written by Walter Mosley, all terrific mysteries. 
 
Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton which inspired the excellent Spielberg movie.  The book is entertaining in its own right.
 
The Firm by John Grisham.  I like the film version as well, but I prefer the book’s superior ending. 
 
Stephen King’s Misery.  A fascinating book about writing and obsession.
 
The War Of The Worlds by H.G. Wells.  It’s thoroughly enjoyable.  Wonderful attention to detail.
 
On the non-fiction side…
 
Blinded By The Right by David Brock.  Formerly a right-wing “reporter”, the now-openly gay founder of Media Matters For America explains why he became a liberal after years spent defending the Republicans and trashing the Democrats.  A revealing book.
 
The Lesser Evil by Michael Ignatieff.  The former Harvard professor turned Liberal MP/leadership candidate has some interesting thoughts about terrorism, torture and the ethical dilemmas Western democracies find themselves in, as a result.  I thought he was a critic of the Bush Administration, the war in Iraq and torture but others say the opposite is true.  Read the book to find out for yourself.  It’s a good read.  Rich and complex.
 
The Politics Of Truth by Joseph Wilson.  The former American Ambassador and current husband of an outed undercover CIA agent outlines how he got into diplomacy and the initial fallout from “Plamegate”.  I love how he rips Robert Novak a new one and the chapters devoted to his experience in the first Gulf war.  John McCain was wrong to question his patriotism.
 
Fast Food Nation, and Reefer Madness by Eric Schlosser.  The former is the scariest book I’ve ever read.  It’s all about the fast food industry, its dark secrets and its deeply revealing history.  The latter is about America’s underground economies.  The section on the evolution of adult entertainment is the best reason to pick it up.
 
Room Full Of Mirrors, and Heaver Than Heaven by Charles R. Cross.  Two great biographies about two legendary Seattle musicians.  The first is about Jimi Hendrix (very insightful) and the second is about Kurt Cobain.  It’s unlikely anyone will write a better biography of the Nirvana frontman.  Check out my review here.
 
You’ll Never Eat Lunch In This Town Again by Julia Phillips.  The now-deceased producer of Taxi Driver and Close Encounters Of The Third Kind is a tough woman to love.  But this memoir of her life in Hollywood is impossible to stop reading.  She is missed.
 
When You Ride Alone, You Ride With Bin Laden by Bill Maher.  America’s best social commentator, who might be the most intelligent and thought provoking entertainer out there right now, shares his thoughts on terrorism and how America should fight it.  Love the WWII-style posters which greatly convey his points.  His riffing on Saddam Hussein is very funny.
 
American Dynasty by Kevin Phillips.  An influential conservative explains why the Bush family and their politics have been bad for America.  Worth exploring.
 
Over The Edge, and 20th Century Rock And Roll – Alternative Music by Alan Cross.  The great Canadian radio documentarian knows way too much about underground rock and roll as he proves in these two, terrific books.  Bet you can’t just read them once.
 
One more comment about Over The Edge.  You may notice that above every title on my book list there is a picture of the cover.  Well, every title except Over The Edge.  For some reason, Amazon.ca doesn’t have the front of the book displayed on their website.  That’s why that one is missing here.  No worries.  Just click on the link and you’ll be taken to the right page.
 
With Christmas coming up and a lot of people to buy presents for, why not purchase books directly from my list?  I assure you that I have read and enjoyed them all, and I hope you do, too.  They’re affordable to buy and they would make the readers in your family very happy.
 
When you click on a title on my list you’ll be taken to Amazon.ca and when you purchase that book you’re supporting The Writings Of Dennis Earl, which makes me very happy.  If you want to buy more than one title from my list you need to click each title on my list.
 
I’m hoping this newest addition to my website will inspire me (and you) to read more books.  I’ll be adding more entries in the future.
 
Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Thursday, November 9, 2006
9:41 p.m.
Published in: on November 9, 2006 at 9:45 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2006/11/09/recommended-books-for-sale-from-amazon-ca-finally/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

