Dealing With Annoying Technical Glitches Plus The New Fading To Black Link List

It’s been a frustrating week.  Ever since the latest Windows Live update on April 20th, it’s not been business as usual for this website.  You may be well aware of what I’m talking about.
 
For some yet-to-be-determined reason, The Writings Of Dennis Earl has been freezing and crashing an awful lot.  I’m no computer genius but it wouldn’t be a total shock to me if it had something to do with all these new features and gadgets that have just been released.  But that’s just a guess.
 
Essentially, here’s what’s been happening in the last five days.  The home page starts loading normally and then, at some point, it freezes.  You can’t scroll down and you can’t click on any of the links.  In order for me to sign in here, with the sole purpose of doing some work, I have to click to the "Sign In" page very quickly before the inevitable happens.  Surprisingly, once I do sign in, everything is fine, although scrolling down can result in occasional freezing.  But this has been occurring for quite some time, long before the current difficulties.
 
Also, when I’ve clicked the "Customize" button in "Edit Mode", the damn thing freezes and I can’t access or even investigate these latest additions to Windows Live.  This is a major annoyance because I’ve been wanting to make some changes to this website.  That can’t happen until this matter is resolved.
 
Also annoying is the lagging.  As I type this, the letters I’m pressing start appearing a little slower than normal.  The lagging is even worse when adding items to lists.
 
Speaking of lists, you may have noticed a new one directly underneath The Writings Of Dennis Earl 3, the third list of blog entries.  As noted earlier in this space, I’ve been invited to submit items to the Fading To Black Blog, a website devoted to covering the worldwide decline of the newspaper business.  So far, you’ll find 25 stories I’ve posted in that growing list of links.  It’s been a lot of fun writing for another person’s website.  You’re never quite sure how an opportunity like that is going to turn out but I’m happy to report that it’s been a positive experience thus far.  Check out that site everyday.  There’s usually something new and interesting to read.
 
In the meantime, I hope to get back to writing new material for The Writings Of Dennis Earl, which just passed the 9100 hit mark.  Despite the recurring technical glitches, it is possible to continue adding new pieces to my blog and the latest blog links to my third list of entries.  So, I’m very pleased about that.
 
The Windows Live Technical Support Team has already offered possible solutions to my dilemma but alas, none of them have ultimately worked.  I’ll be checking in with them again shortly to let them know specifically what’s wrong.  Here’s hoping this annoying problem will be resolved promptly and thoroughly.
 
I thank you for your patience and understanding during this frustrating period.
 
Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Wednesday, April 25, 2007
8:13 p.m.
Published in: on April 25, 2007 at 8:18 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2007/04/25/dealing-with-annoying-technical-glitches-plus-the-new-fading-to-black-link-list/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

