Website Changes

Like The Vatican, I can be resistant to change.  Thankfully, my stubbornness doesn’t last for centuries.
 
For almost three years, I’ve been wanting to change the look of this space.  Back when I launched this site in February 2006, it had a cool film strip theme that repeated all the way down the page.  Unfortunately, it eventually had to be scrapped because at one point, all my content turned invisible.  As a result, I had to settle for a less than appealing polka dot design (based on a helpful suggestion from someone on the Windows Live Spaces Technical Team).  After a while, I made another switch near the end of the year.  It was a space nebula theme that gave the site a lovely bit of atmosphere, albeit in a low-key way.
 
That design lasted a lot longer than I wanted it to, which brings us to yesterday.  After scouring all the different themes, I settled on this understated space motif.  The coolest part involves scrolling all the way down the home page where you’ll see blue stars on either side of the blog.  I like how they fill the blank spaces down there.
 
This isn’t the only new aspect of The Writings Of Dennis Earl.  If you focus on the right side of your screen while you’re moving down the home page, you’ll notice something is missing.  That would be the Recommended Books For Sale list.
 
Four almost four years, I had an Amazon Associates ID.  The way it works is pretty simple.  You send them an email requesting the ID, they examine your site to make sure everything’s kosher and if they approve of it, you get the ID, basically a code name that incorporates numbers and the name of your site. 
 
The next step is to put together a book list and this is where I ran into trouble for months.  Fortunately, I figured out what I was doing wrong (the WLS Technical Team were no help) and everything was ready to go in November 2006.  I was going to get 4% commission on every book directly ordered from this space.  (My ID appeared in each link so Amazon would know the origin of the sale.)  Seeing the covers of all but one of the titles improved the look of the site tremendously.  (They mysteriously disappeared months ago during one of Microsoft’s occasional Spaces updates, unfortunately.)
 
However, after receiving 1093 clicks and no sales, despite briefly experimenting with the idea of swapping my recommended reads for current best-sellers, the reality could no longer be denied.  No one wanted to buy a book from this site.  As a result, I informed Amazon last night that I wanted out.  When I checked my messages today, there was a response.  As per my request, they cancelled my ID. 
 
What does this ultimately mean?  Simple.  I won’t be making any money through my writing here.  As I explained back in 2006, there are only two ways to earn revenue on Windows Live Spaces:  Kanoodle Ads and the Amazon book list.  Surely, there are better ideas.
 
Until a more surefire profit-making venture comes along, you won’t be given the hard sell regarding advertising.  You’ll be able to read in peace.
 
One last thing.  You may have noticed a really cool spinning diamond followed by three links to three separate Windows Live Spaces sites that someone posted in my Guestbook several months ago.  There was no personal message to me and normally, I would delete spam of this nature but when I saw that diamond, I thought it classed up my site so I kept it.  Unfortunately, it stopped working a while ago.  Whenever I would scroll down to check it out, all I would see is a white box with a red "X" in the middle, the universal sign for something that didn’t load in properly.  (Several attempts to get it to work always resulted in failure.)  Sadly, it has since been deleted.  But special thanks to the guy who sent it to me.  I got plenty of enjoyment out of it.
 
Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Tuesday, May 11, 2010
7:55 p.m.
 
UPDATE:  I forgot to mention something.  In a previous piece, I mentioned that you can follow my blog on NetworkedBlogs, a site that has its own app on Facebook.  In the upper right hand corner of my home page, you’ll notice a box that says "Follow my blog…".  In order to become a follower of The Writings Of Dennis Earl, note the line "Click here to sign up for FREE".  When you get to my NetworkedBlogs page, click "Follow".  (It’s right under the thumbnail picture of my site.)  And that’s it.  While you’re there, have a look around at other blogs you might be interested in following.
 
Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Wednesday, May 12, 2010
2:20 p.m.
Published in: on May 11, 2010 at 7:56 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2010/05/11/website-changes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Just reading this noticing you are also from Ontario, congrats dude cuz I think you are the first one I’ve met here. And Ontario is awesome. I live near Ottawa.


Leave a Reply

