Revealing Quotes From Mel Gibson’s 1995 Playboy Interview

In the July 1995 issue of Playboy Magazine, Mel Gibson was the subject of its monthly Interview.  At the time it was conducted, he was editing Braveheart, the film that would go on to become a major critical and financial success.  (Of the five Oscars it won, Gibson personally snagged two.  I highly recommend it.)  Originally planned as two separate two-hour sessions on two consecutive days, the normally press-suspicious Gibson surprisingly gave inquisitor Lawrence Grobel more than eight hours over three. 
 
15 years after its publication, Gibson’s remarkable candor regarding the darker aspects of his personality have taken on new depth in light of these now infamous audio tapes of him screaming and insulting his then-girlfriend Oksana Grigorieva earlier this year.  (As of this writing, five tapes of his scary ranting have been released.  More are still to come.) 
 
What follows are the most revealing quotes which sound, at times, oddly contemporary:
 
“We’re all a strange bunch of different and contradictory bits. I’m no closer to explaining who I am than anyone else is.”
 
“I get pretty dark sometimes, pretty bleak. But that passes. I rarely lose my temper anymore…You’ve got to get it out. I used to just hang on to it and then some little thing would set it off, which was stupid. You behave like an asshole when you lose it, and you feel like an asshole afterward. It’s not healthy.”
 
“I have a self-destructive tendency.”
 
“Drinking is a cultural pastime [in Australia], and it’s required. So you indulge and imbibe. Misbehaving is fun.”
 
“There are people who try to grab on and go through the gate with you, because they can’t do it themselves. You find a lot of people interacting or doing things for not very good reasons. So you have to deal with assholes. Not everybody’s an asshole, though sometimes you wonder.”
 
“I hate talking about me and what I believe. I always find it to be painful. It’s like making a large target out of yourself. You make yourself very vulnerable.”
 
On an unnamed author who wrote an unauthorized bio of him:
 
“He deserves death. He attacked me at an elemental level. He attacked my wife, my family, my father, my whole being. He’s lucky he’s still walking. He’s getting to you in the most underhanded, nasty way, threatening everything you have, everything you are, saying that you’re a worthless piece of shit. And that the people who gave birth to you are scumbags and really nasty people. And everyone you’ve ever met or touched you trampled on and fucked over. And that you’re weird and warped and it’s like you are fucking Hitler. I’m Hitler and my dad is Mussolini!”
 
“I have to pray for the guy who [wrote the book] so I don’t kill him. Because the motherfucker hasn’t got any balls. He’s a pussy and I hope I never meet him, because I’d tear his fucking face right off! He’s one of those tabloid-press low-life scumbags from England who’s making a buck. There’s a lot of money to be made in unauthorized biographies.”

“I used to break the law a bit. I was a good criminal as a child. I never got caught.”

On the one time he stapled his sister’s head:
 
“She was sitting there and it was just one of those compulsions. It was a big stapler, too. She screamed her head off and I was in serious trouble. I didn’t stick around, but [my parents] hunted me down and I got a whacking.”

“There has to be an afterlife because Hitler and I both walked the planet and I’m not going to the same place as Hitler. Or Pol Pot.”

“I’ll get kicked around for saying it, but men and women are just different. They’re not equal.”
 
“You might be more intelligent, or you might have a bigger dick. Whatever it is, nobody’s equal. And men and women are not equal. I have tremendous respect for women. I love them. I don’t know why they want to step down. Women in my family are the center of things. All good things emanate from them. The guys usually mess up.”
 
“I had a female business partner once. Didn’t work. She was a cunt.”
 
“Feminists don’t like me, and I don’t like them. I don’t get their point. I don’t know why feminists have it out for me, but that’s their problem, not mine.”
 
More on the former business partner:
 
“She was more vicious than any guy in business I’ve ever seen. She thought she needed to over compensate for the fact that she was a woman. Which is just bullshit. It’s like unbelievable ferocity and unreasonableness. Then, when you got to her reason, she’d pull the woman thing on you. She wasn’t fair. They don’t play fair.”
 
On women:
 
“It happens a lot. They’re not coming from the same place at all. There are certain things men will never understand about them. We’ll never get it. And you’re supposed to be nice to them. Because they can hurt you. It’s like that joke about the guy who bedded three women: Lorena Bobbitt, Tonya Harding and Hillary Clinton. He woke up with no penis, his kneecaps bashed in and no health insurance.”

On whether his then-wife shares any of his beliefs:

“No.”
 
On his theory regarding Rhodes Scholar politicians:
 
“Do you know what a Rhodes scholar is? Cecil Rhodes established the Rhodes scholarship for those young men and women who want to strive for a new world order. Have you heard that before? George Bush? CIA? Really, it’s Marxism, but it just doesn’t want to call itself that. Karl [Marx] had the right idea, but he was too forward about saying what it was. Get power but don’t admit to it. Do it by stealth. There’s a whole trend of Rhodes scholars who will be politicians around the world.”
 
“I used to get into trouble because I had a really big trap. I’d say things to people and they’d take offense because I’m not the soul of tact. It still plagues me.”
 
“There are so many assholes out there with guns, and they’ll always have guns, so you might as well have the right to bear arms.”
 
On whether he owns a gun:
 
“I do.”
 
On whether he’s racist, homophobic, mysogynistic:
 
“No, I’m not. I’m really not. I think if you suggest that you find some modes of behavior unnatural, then you become all those things. And you get vilified. It’s like having people holding signs and trying to spit on you.”
 
On whether he suffers from guilt:
 
“People who don’t deal with guilt have a problem, unless you never do anything to transgress what you know to be right or wrong. And there are very few people who don’t step over the line, because it’s fun to goof up, it’s fun to fuck up. It is. You can’t deny it.”
 
 
The entire entertaining interview can be read here

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Sunday, July 18, 2010
11:38 a.m. 

Published in: on July 18, 2010 at 11:38 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2010/07/18/revealing-quotes-from-mel-gibsons-1995-playboy-interview/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

