The WordPress Era Begins

After nearly 5 years on Windows Live Spaces, The Writings Of Dennis Earl is settling into its new home on WordPress.  I made the move yesterday afternoon.  For those still on Spaces who are hesitant about making the leap forward, you have nothing to worry about.  All your blog entries, blog comments and blog photos will safely make the trip here.  (Unfortunately, everything else will not so copy and paste the rest for safe keeping.)

Remember, you have until March 16, 2011 to decide whether you want to move your site to WordPress.  If you do nothing by then, Microsoft will automatically remove all your hard work for you on that date.   (You can delete your site yourself at any time before then.)  Even if you’re done with this whole baring-your-soul-online deal, I highly recommend you download your blog which you can save to your hard drive.  That way, you won’t lose anything blog-related.

Now that the Windows Live era has ended for me, it’s time to usher in the start of my WordPress period.  Already, I’m very pleased with the new digs.  For one thing, I have Stats again.  Not too long ago, Windows Live Spaces removed the Statistics page, so for a good number of months there was no way to determine how big or small my readership has been recently, a major pet peeve.  Knowing how many people are actually visiting this site again will help me sense how I’m doing.  Also cool is the fact that I’ll immediately know which pieces are being accessed and how often. 

After much perusing, I’ve settled on this classic light brown theme for the look of the site.  It has a historical feel to it which is appropriate because I’m thinking about writing more about the past than the present. 

For the first time in the history of this site, there’s a Search function.  You’ll find it adjacent to the title of this entry.  Underneath it are the same categories of blog entries that appeared on the old site.  The unfortunate thing about Windows Live was the limited amount you could create beyond the generic defaults.  On WordPress, I can add new ones.  Because of this, I’m thinking of going through every entry and recategorizing where appropriate.

Right below the categories are the archives which, for the first time, list the number of pieces I’ve posted per month.  Because of other priorities, I haven’t written nearly as much as I’d like to but thanks to this unexpected change of address, that is likely to change sooner than later.  I feel reinvigorated.

Underneath the archives is my Blogroll which now simply consists of names and linked addresses.  (I used to have descriptions as well on the old site.) Clicking on any one of them will open up a new window so you don’t lose your place here.  As I continue to explore the offerings on WordPress, I imagine there will be more additions to the right side of the blog to fill it out a bit more. 

I do have an About page but have no clue how to link it to the home page.  I hope to figure that out shortly.  In the meantime, you can access it directly by clicking here.  (UPDATE: You can now find it on the home page right above the Search window.)

Please feel free to post comments on specific entries or email me at the address provided underneath the title of my site.  Feedback is always welcome.

To those who have followed me from Windows Live, welcome back.  And to new readers just discovering The Writings Of Dennis Earl, you have a lot of catching up to do.  In the meantime, keep your eye on this space.  New pieces are coming soon.

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Sunday, October 10, 2010
5:34 p.m.

Published in: on October 10, 2010 at 5:34 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/the-wordpress-era-begins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] to the new digs, the thrill of blogging returned.  On October 10, 2010, exactly a year ago today, The WordPress Era began.  That month, my first on WordPress, would turn out to be unusually productive (10 overall pieces […]

  2. […] October 10, 2010, The Writings Of Dennis Earl officially moved from Windows Live Spaces to WordPress.  After more than four and a half years on the former, the site relocated to the latter.  (Yes, I […]


Leave a Reply

