Emotional Wasteland

Looking for inspiration in the deserts of my mind
Going through the motions in a state of decline
Sifting through the wreckage of a life gone wrong
Seeking a half-hearted return to the days when I was strong

Endlessly searching for a new path to peace
But these lingering memories of pain prevent my release
No matter where I look, regret at every turn
Mistakes are plentiful, closure hard to discern

The future’s on hold because the past’s still present
Facing these old transgressions leaves my days so unpleasant
A fresh new idea would lift me right out of the dark
And finally allow me to leave my mark

But imperfection rips away this false facade of cool
This stoic presence masks a deeply frightened fool
If only a sense of optimism was readily at hand
For now I remain paralyzed in this emotional wasteland

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Friday, March 11, 2011
11:07 p.m.

Published in: on March 11, 2011 at 11:07 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/emotional-wasteland/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

