Sly Tribute

Took the time to properly scrutinize my stuff
Had the smarts to point out parts that weren’t good enough
Absolutely dedicated to doing a great job
Nice and lovely in person, far from a snob
Knowledgable about Canadian Press guidelines

You ultimately strengthened the way I write
Organizing my thoughts in the best possible light 
Unfortunately you’re leaving so this is a sad night

Losing your input is a terrible thing
Asking me questions improved everything
Remembering now how much your support meant to me
Impossible to thank you enough for helping me see
Sorry that you’re moving on after such a short time
Secretly nursing a crush since meeting you that one time
All the best to you, I know you will shine

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Tuesday, September 6, 2011
10:05 p.m.

Published in: on September 6, 2011 at 10:06 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/sly-tribute/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Sly Tribute attempted to honour Larissa Cardey, the former editor of MonkeyBiz.ca who left the job last summer.  Mr. Thin Skin mocked stubborn, unaccountable, faux conservative pundits, particularly those in Canada, The Cozy Journalist satirized the sad state of the modern Washington reporter, and Occupation allowed me in my own way to publicly support the Occupy Wall Street movement.  (To see all my poems, past and present, just click the Poetry section on the right side of my home page.) […]


Leave a Reply

