The Creative Drought Returns And A Stats Update

Inspiration is a fickle bitch.  Some days, it flows freely and easily, allowing you to express yourself without too much effort.  The rest of the time it wants nothing to do with you.  It’s like having a water tap in your head that’s shut so tightly not even a drop of an idea plops out.  It can be so frustrating when you want to be a prolific writer.

Longtime followers of this site will find this sentiment awfully familiar.  At various points during the last several years, there have been numerous periods where nothing gets posted.  I’m talking several consecutive weeks of inactivity where nothing is even drafted, let alone publicly showcased.

It happens.  You go through a wonderful, productive phase that can last a few days or a few weeks and then the well runs completely dry.  Oh sure.  There are times where you have an actual idea to pursue, it’s just that you have no clear way of fully developing it into an entertaining entry and you simply give up trying.  Perfectionism is also a consistent pain in the ass.

Rather than continually moan about my lack of progress in the last little bit, let me instead reflect on how far this site has come since the switch from Windows Live Spaces to WordPress nearly a year ago.

In the last three months of 2010, page views were initially quite pitiful.  Just a little under 1100 hits altogether.  But as 2011 got under way, the site suddenly got more attention.  There were nearly 600 hits in January alone and 800 in both February and March.  Add it all up and The Writings Of Dennis Earl had already seen a significant increase in the new era.

By April, the site was averaging 1000 hits per month until the summer when my Gene Simmons Family Jewels pieces surprisingly broke through in a major way.  WordPress counted nearly 5000 hits in July and almost 2000 in August.  At the moment, September has received almost 850 and will likely finish with at least 1000.  Who knows what will happen in the last quarter of the year?  Chances are the return of Jewels next month will see a nice boost in traffic.  Regardless, it’ll be up to me to break out of this creative slump and continue to grow my following.  Despite these occasional setbacks based on silly doubts and unrealistic expectations, I’m determined to keep going.  Really, at this point, I have nothing to lose.

So far this year The Writings Of Dennis Earl has been accessed about 13000 times and if things continue on this path (regardless of the possible return of the Gene Bump), this will likely be the most successful year in this site’s short history.  I hope more good things are on the horizon.  I want to reach more readers and eventually, develop a permanently lucrative revenue stream for my writing.

In the meantime, new pieces are coming.  The tap can’t stay shut forever.

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Thursday, September 22, 2011
3:00 a.m.

Published in: on September 22, 2011 at 3:01 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2011/09/22/the-creative-drought-returns-and-a-stats-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I found the detail on the growth of your blog interesting. I know nothing about hits or site traffic and I appreciate the mini-tutorial.

    Dry spells happen, I’m sure you’ll get your mojo back.

    I like your poem “Sly Tribute”, including the title. People rarely express appreciation to their bosses, I think it’s a competitive thing, and I like that you recognize and are grateful for the positive impact on your life and career. Best lines: “secretly nursing a crush” and “I know you will shine.” Also, it’s a significant 180 from some of your recent darker epics.

    I don’t know how to make money with a blog. I guess it could be used to develop enough of a portfolio of your talent that a publisher would offer a position. For instance, I always read Joel Stein in “Time”, and I think some of your writings are similar. Or, to develop enough of a following that you could include ads (oh, no, no, no……). Or, you could do a HuffPo style transition where you are Mrs. Huff in the mister form. You know better than I; I’ll have to ponder it a bit more.

    Meanwhile, have a Moosehead, shield your eyes and gird yourself, the Simmons spectacle is soon to return….


Leave a Reply

