Drowning In Junk

It wasn’t always this way
The suffocating tension
It didn’t happen in a day
The escalating dissension
It’s been building for years
The reluctance to decide
A catalogue of tears
I have shamefully cried

It started with a mess
That refuses to fade
Still sweating from the stress
An unbearable cavalcade
I’m running out of space
To house all my pain
If you saw this place
You would think I’m insane

But I’m not a freak
Nor a monster in disguise
I’m just too weak
To open up my eyes
And witness the guilt
Unproudly displayed
Whatever I have built
Will leave you shocked and dismayed

The filth was once my friend
The only one who understood me
My loyalty refused to bend
Look at what it has cost me
Mountains of sorrow
And my self-esteem has sunk
There is no tomorrow
When you’re drowning in junk

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Thursday, March 8, 2012
11:38 p.m.

Published in: on March 8, 2012 at 11:39 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/drowning-in-junk/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] of poetry, not every poem dealt with the awful American political scene.  Drowning In Junk imagined the life of a hoarder, Smooth Transition conveys the point of view of a has-been rocker […]


Leave a Reply

