The Opposite Of A Dream

I only love you when it’s wrong
When it feels wildly out of place
When it’s barely hanging on
Ready to blow up in my face

I only love you when it’s scary
When it cannot be contained
When mayhem swallows reason
The ending preordained

I only love you when it’s sour
When it leaves a bitter taste
When the acid boils over
Laying everything to waste

I only love you when it hurts
When it makes me want to scream
When it brings on the agony
The opposite of a dream

I only love you when it’s failing
When it struggles to find a beat
Yet the blood’s still pumping
Too stubborn to admit defeat

I only love you when it dies
When it completely falls apart
When there’s no point in hoping
For a rejuvenated start

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Tuesday, December 4, 2012
4:21 p.m.

Published in: on December 4, 2012 at 4:21 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2012/12/04/the-opposite-of-a-dream/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

