Blissful Denial

If I close my eyes it doesn’t exist
If I plug my ears I go deeper in the mist
If I hold my tongue I silently agree
That victims of war don’t matter to me

If I turn off my mind I don’t have to think
If I plug my nose I can avoid the stink
If I refuse to write I quietly concur
That endless torture is what I prefer

If I sit on my hands I don’t have to act
If I believe in lies they will become fact
If I bury my conscience I give my assent
To more death and destruction from the President

If I pass the buck I won’t be blamed
If I hide my face I won’t be shamed
If the alternative is spotting those bodies in a pile
I’m better off living in blissful denial

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Wednesday, February 6, 2013
3:12 a.m.

Published in: on February 6, 2013 at 3:13 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2013/02/06/blissful-denial/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] political poems I wrote this year include The Sleeping Majority (about the Gitmo hunger strike), Blissful Denial and Union Of Ignorance (both knocking those who ignore the criminal actions of […]


Leave a Reply

