Silence Isn’t Justice

There comes a time when even you have to admit
That the man you support is completely full of shit
Avoiding real complaints is a transparent swerve
What can’t be denied is that I clearly touched a nerve

You really can’t argue with any of my thoughts
The best you can muster are pathetic cheap shots
This doesn’t come as much of a surprise
What will it take for you to open your eyes?

Innocent people bear the brunt of his force
Do I have to keep screaming this until my voice gets hoarse?
You claim to be a champion for the poor and the weak
But when it comes to Muslims you refuse to speak

Why is this so difficult for you to understand?
Endless warmongering isn’t protecting your homeland
Resentment and rage is at an all-time high
Do you ever stop to wonder the reasons why?

“Equality matters for everyone”, I don’t disagree
We all deserve respect and tranquility
But when I closely examine your own perspective
Your sense of outrage is awfully selective

“I speak about things I’m passionate about…
That have personally affected me”, this I don’t doubt
But why the need to be touched by injustice’s song
To know that harming civilians is utterly wrong?

By all means keep pursuing your honourable goals
Your work has helped those replenish their souls
But when whistleblowers like Manning aren’t being defended
Your silence isn’t justice and I’m deeply offended

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Tuesday, March 26, 2013
2:39 a.m.

Published in: on March 26, 2013 at 2:40 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/silence-isnt-justice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] When you write brutal poetry like You’re Not As Smart As You Think You Are, Hot Girl Bubble, Silence Isn’t Justice and I’m Your Conscience as well as an ironic piece entitled Sophia Bush, The Queen Of […]

  2. […] long after this brief exchange, I wrote a poem about it:  Silence Isn’t Justice.  Then, in April, still aggravated by the whole thing, I posted Sophia Bush, The Queen Of […]


Leave a Reply

