Humourless Gesture

I raised my voice at an opportune time
By countering irony with some of my own
I whipped up a frenzy with a single thought
Yet never questioned my foolish compulsion

I angered the masses with a humourless gesture
Dismissed their outrage as proof of justification
Never once considering the strong possibility
That his satirical view isn’t prejudiced at all

I hijacked a movement that others began
Swallowing their protest with one of my own
Lost in the slander of an offensive name
Was my willful ignorance of a single joke

I never watched the sketch in question
I only cared about raising a fuss
And what did I get for my outspokenness?
Eternal grief and little progression

I wasn’t interested in a conversation
I refuse to answer legitimate questions
My haphazard stunt matters more than reason
So why don’t I get any respect?

I forgot an important principle
Only fight humour with some of your own
But I put no thought into my bogus campaign
Now even allies are deeply annoyed

There’s a noble purpose in being a pest
It can rightly threaten the status quo
Organized persuasion is a noble tactic
But only when you know all of the facts

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Wednesday, April 2, 2014
4:19 p.m.

Published in: on April 2, 2014 at 4:19 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/humourless-gesture/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Humourless Gesture took on Suey Park’s dopey #CancelColbert campaign (as did the essay How The Real Suey Park Is Just As Ignorant As The Fake Stephen Colbert) while The True Meaning Of Indecency and, to a lesser extent, Your Courage Is In Short Supply once again took poetic aim at Barack Obama apologist Sophia Bush (as did Sophia Bush’s Revealing Buzzfeed Interview & Warmongering Human Rights Activists). […]


Leave a Reply

