Darkness Inside

(Please note:  this is NOT autobiographical.)

I want to confess
There is darkness inside
It conspires in secret
It will not subside
Feasting on the past
That will not die
Living for confusion
And the perfect lie

I want to undress
Shed this dishonest skin
Expose the raw ugliness
Caged from within
It begs for freedom
But does not appreciate
The risk of revealing
A philosophy of hate

I want to express
This closeted contempt
It will infect the culture
On my first attempt
I can influence the world
With my xenophobic trash
See it disintegrate
In a momentous flash

I want to depress
I don’t want to save
Pile the ashes of my enemies
Into a single mass grave
Aroused by their sadness
Amused by their fear
If all goes to plan
It will be one hell of a year

I want to impress
The international community
By laughing at their laws
While enjoying immunity
It’s not so farfetched
I know it can be done
Just look at Palestine
The genocide has begun

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Thursday, July 17, 2014
5:57 p.m.

Published in: on July 17, 2014 at 5:58 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2014/07/17/darkness-inside/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] I wrote three poems about the unfolding genocide instead:  There Is No Tomorrow, Only Yesterday; Darkness Inside and Spilling The Blood Of Innocence.  Some of the explicit imagery graphically depicted in […]


Leave a Reply

