Fearful Lens

I dreaded the days I would encounter your hate
You so rattled my senses I couldn’t think straight
You invaded my space and pushed me around
It was next to impossible to stand my ground

You made me feel resigned instead of empowered
It was never comfortable being a coward
You enjoyed stabbing my reputation with lies
Until the truth bled out and blinded your eyes

You took advantage of my physical limitations
You made me feel low with your withering imitations
In your heartless mind I was worthless scum
Thank goodness we all discovered you’re incredibly dumb

You used to be the epitome of all my fears
Until that day you wore plasticine on both your ears
You were making headphones that got seriously stuck
Everyone was laughing, you ignorant fuck

Remember that time you stole my hat
And threw it over a fence in seconds flat?
Or that time you stuffed snow in my brand new toque
I came down with such a fever I couldn’t help but puke

No matter how many times you were told to stop
You wouldn’t relent, you were like a crooked cop
I only survived with my dignity intact
When I changed schools as a matter of fact

The last time I saw you was in the checkout line
A moment of terror briefly crossed my mind
But you were oblivious to my presence there
And I wasn’t about to attract it with a frozen stare

Decades have passed since your tyrannical reign
I wonder how you function with such a tiny brain
I doubt you would ever offer to make amends
I no longer view you through a fearful lens

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Sunday, May 24, 2015
7:04 p.m.

Published in: on May 24, 2015 at 7:04 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2015/05/24/fearful-lens/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] autobiographical poems this year included Fearful Lens about a real-life childhood bully I haven’t seen in almost 30 years (and hope never to […]


Leave a Reply

