Nobody’s Type

Walking around completely undetected
Collective indifference strongly suspected
Always invisible amongst the crowd
Their silent rejection so incredibly loud
No reason to listen, no desire to talk
A sobering reason for me to take stock
Maybe it’s true that I’m not worth the hype
I guess I should accept I’m nobody’s type

How can I be when I’m thin as a rail
Underdeveloped with skin so pale
Stuck in a pattern that’s hard to break
Sometimes “the truth” is too tough to take
Unwilling to challenge this faulty thinking
Weaker minds would contemplate drinking
Perhaps it’s foolish to publicly gripe
I guess I should accept I’m nobody’s type

It hasn’t always been the best of times
Too many examples to list in rhymes
Bullies & intolerances top a long list
Problems that can’t be solved with a flick of the wrist
You keep hammering yourself on a daily basis
Wondering if you’ll ever locate that oasis
I’ll never be as cool as Michael Stipe
I guess I should accept I’m nobody’s type

I’m just not seen in a sexual way
Guys like me aren’t invited to play
We lack definition and the talent to excite
That’s why we call it an early night
We’re not on the cover of a best-selling book
We just aren’t given a second look
It’s a wonder I don’t ever reach for a pipe
I guess I should accept I’m nobody’s type

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
2:57 a.m.

Published in: on June 23, 2015 at 2:57 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2015/06/23/nobodys-type/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] low self-esteem from a woman’s point of view, respectively.  Speaking of low self-esteem, Nobody’s Type is how I feel about myself because of my numerous physical problems, unemployment status and […]


Leave a Reply

