Degrassi Junior High (Song Parody)

“Wake up in the morning
Feeling shy and lonely
Gee, I gotta go to school
I don’t think I can make it
Don’t think I can take it
I’m wondering what I’m gonna do
But when I look around and see
That someone is smiling right at me
Wait!
That someone’s talking to me
Hey!
I’ve got a new friend
Everybody can succeed
All you need is to believe
Be honest with yourself
Forget your fears and doubts
Come on, give us a try
At Degrassi Junior High”

Nostalgia can hit you with the force of a tornado when you least expect it.  Last week, for the first time in so many years, I started watching Degrassi Junior High again.  (MTV Canada airs it weekdays at 1:30 p.m.)  I accidentally caught the middle of an episode where the girls’ swim team challenge the boys’ soccer team to a swim-off.  (The girls win.)  Almost instantly, a torrent of teenage memories came flooding back into my brain.

While getting reacquainted with the likes of Lucy, Caitlyn, Joey, Snake, Wheels, Spike and Stephanie Kaye, after not thinking about them in decades, a very silly thought popped into my head:  what would it sound like if Axl Rose sang the Degrassi Junior High theme song?

Well, I would hope it would go a little something like this.  You’re welcome:

DEGRASSI JUNIOR HIGH
(To the tune of Live And Let Die)

When you wake up feeling shy & lonely, too
Do I have to go to school?
(You know you do, you know you do, you know you do)
I can’t make it, I can’t take it, what will I do?
Come on, give us a try
At Degrassi Junior High
Degrassi Junior High

All you need to succeed now
Is to believe in you
Forget your fears & doubts
Just be honest with your fuckin’ self!

Who’s that smiling right at me?
(It’s a new friend, it’s a new friend, it’s a new friend)
I look around, they’re talking to me, what will I do?
Come on, give us a try
At Degrassi Junior High
Degrassi Junior High

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Thursday, June 25, 2015
1:42 a.m.

Published in: on June 25, 2015 at 1:42 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2015/06/25/degrassi-junior-high-song-parody/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your hell in a cell fact three I’d wrong it was actually Wrestlemania Xv not Wrestlemania XIV just thought I would let you no very good posts though.

    • Damnit, you’re right. I’ll let HuffPo know but I don’t know if they’ll correct it now since it’s an old piece. I hope they will. Thanks.

  2. […] themes, although I was thinking more of Guns N’ Roses’ cover version.  That led to this goofy parody.  (Paging Axel.)  I wonder if Kevin Smith would be […]


Leave a Reply

