Absence Of Reason

Cursed with impulsiveness
Adrenalized by the fight
Angered by the injustice
Convinced you are right

The question was rhetorical
There was no need to answer
Self-righteous spontaneity
Is an incurable cancer

It arises out of nowhere
Awakened in a flash
Like a clumsy diver
Who enters with too much splash

It could have been avoided
Now she thinks you’re a sleaze
This impasse is likely permanent
A harsh Arctic freeze

Is he really guilty?
I expressed my doubts
And in a fiery instant
We are on the outs

We shouldn’t be so certain
Without further investigation
So many unanswered questions
Unavoidable complication

Both our doors are locked
And she will never budge
But I’m willing to reconsider
I no longer hold a grudge

Dennis Earl
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Saturday, November 21, 2015
2:11 a.m.

 

Published in: on November 21, 2015 at 2:11 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dennisearl.wordpress.com/2015/11/21/absence-of-reason/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] gassy, a problem I’ve been having off and on ever since).  But once I calmed down, I wrote Absence Of Reason as a way of documenting the incident since I’ve deleted my side of the argument.  (If I had […]


Leave a Reply

